Website is working in a trial mode

(Old version)
twitter icon
linkedin icon

International Advisory Board


In 2020 at the Faculty of Medicine, International Advisory Board was established, which is a voluntary council of leading medical experts in various fields of medicine. The board members express readiness to collaborate with the Faculty of Medicine, Ivane Javakhishvili Tbilisi State University (TSU) in the fields of medical education, research and practice. The Advisory Board promotes the implementation of high standards for research and education and enhancement of the quality of the faculty internationalization through consultations, sharing of experience, lectures, forums, exchange programs and joint projects.

Currently, the International Advisory Board consists of 15 members. Board meetings are held as remotely also face to face. The Faculty hosts the biannual Board meeting in Tbilisi and ensures the participation of the Board members in the scientific-practical conference “Translational and Clinical Medicine” specially organized at the same time. The 1st face-to-face board meeting was held in May, 2022 in Tbilisi.


Members of the International  Advisory Board:

Henning Dralle

Professor of Surgery, Dr. med. Habil. MD, FACS, FRCS, FEBS, Head, Department of Endocrine Surgery, Medical Faculty, University Duisburg-Essen, University Hospital Essen, Essen, Germany

Wolfgang Aulitzky

Professor of Urology, Medical Director, Open Medical Institute(OMI), american Austrian Foundation (AAF); Medical University of Innsbruck, Austria; Honorary Doctor of the TSU

Javier Padillo

Professor of Surgery, Dr. med. Head of the Department of General Surgery and Transplantation, University Hospital Virgen del Rocio, Seville, Spain

Nadey Hakim

FACS, Professor in Transplantation Surgery Imperial College, UK Past Vice President Royal Society of Medicine

Otto Rienhoff

Professor, MD, FACMI, the physician and former Director of the Department of Medical Informatics, Strategic advisor at the University Medical Center Göttingen, Göttingen, Germany.

Christian Mawrin

Professor, Head, Department of Neuropathology, University Hospital, Otto-von-Guericke University Magdeburg, Magdeburg, Germany; Honorary Doctor of the TSU

Konrad Karcz

Professor, Dr. hab med. MPH, Department of General-, Abdominal- and Transplantation Surgery, Minimally Invasive and Robotic Surgery, Ludwig-Maximilians-University of Munich, Munich, Germany

Stein Kaasa

Professor, UiO and Head of Department of Oncology, Faculty of Medicine, Oslo University hospital; Honorary Doctor of the TSU

Maximilian Reiser

Professor of Radiology, M.D. Ludwig- Maximilians-University, Munich, Germany; Honorary Doctor of the TSU

Alessia Zamborlini

Professor in Virology, Université Paris-Sud, Orsay, France

Alexander Truskinovsky

Associate Professor, Anatomic/Clinical Pathology Donald and Barbara Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell, USA

Sareli Marom

Professor, Department of Surgery, Chaim Sheba Medical Center; Sackler School of Medicine, Tel Aviv University, Tel-Aviv, Israel

Andrew Gumbs

Professor of Surgery, MD, FACS, Director of Robotic Surgery, Minimally Invasive Hepatic-Pancreatic and Biliary Surgeon; Centre Hospitalier Intercommunal Poissy/Saint-Germain-en-Laye, France

Daniel Hanley

Professor of Neurology, Johns Hopkins Outpatient Center, Division Director, Brain Injury Outcomes, Baltimore, USA

Eustachio Agricola

Professor of Cardiology, Director of Echocardiography Laboratory of San Raffaele Research Hospital, Milan, Italy.

Ingo B. Runnebaum

Professor of Gynecology, MD, MBA, Friedrich Schiller University, Jena, Germany

Max Petzold

Professor, Head of School of Public Health and Community Medicine, Institute of Medicine, University of Gothenburgh, Sweden