Structure of the Faculty

Status of the Faculty

Faculty of Law of the Ivane Javakhishvili Tbilisi State University represents the educational structural element of the university, which within the academic freedom and institutional autonomy carries out educational programs and research in the field of Law. Faculty of Law of the TSU is not a legal entity.

Council of the faculty

Representative body of the faculty is the Council of the Faculty. It consists of 35 members (7 representatives of the student self-governmental body and 28 academic members elected from the branches of the faculty).

The Council of the Faculty carries out duties undertaken under the Georgian legislation (Law of Georgia on Higher Education) and the regulation of the Tbilisi State University.

Dean’s office of the faculty

Dean’s office consists of the following personal: dean, deputy dean(s) and the director of the department of the quality insurance. Dean’s office executes the decisions taken by the Council of the Faculty.

Head of the faculty is the dean of the Faculty of Law, who represents the faculty to third parties, coordinates activities of the Council of Faculty and is responsible for the execution and implementation of the decisions made by the Council. The dean of the Faculty of Law carries out duties undertaken under the Georgian legislation (Law of Georgia on Higher Education) and the regulation of the Tbilisi State University.

Dean:  

Irakli Burduli, Full Professor, room 214, tel: 2 22 37 10, email: irakli.burduli@tsu.ge

Deputy Dean in Resource Management:

Moris Shalikashvili – Associate professor, room 119, tel: 2 29 08 41, email: moris.shalikashvili@tsu.ge

Deputy Dean in Study Process:

Tamar Zarandia Associate professor, room 123, tel: 2 25 03 24, email: tamar.zarandia@tsu.ge

Dean’s Assistant:

Dean’s assistant who is dean’s subordinate, assists him in carrying out dean’s work quickly and efficiently

Demetre Egnatashvili – Room 213, email: demetre.egnatashvili@tsu.ge

Dissertation Council

Dissertation Council represents the Doctoral Academic Degree awarding body, which is created within the Faculty of Law. Council consists of all full and associate professors (list of the members of the Dissertation Council).

Levan Aleksidze – chairman, full professor, room 115, tel: 2 22 23 93, email: levan.alexidze@tsu.ge ; llaleksidze@yahoo.com

Tamar Zarandia – Secretary, associate professor, head of the doctoral program, room 123, tel: 2 25 03 24, email: tamar.zarandia@tsu.ge

Department of the Quality Insurance

Educational and scientific-research related issues on the faculty are dealt with the Department of the Quality Insurance. It is also established for the systemic assessment of the quality of the professional academic development. The department carries out its duties according to the regulation of the Faculty.

Authority of the Department of the Quality Assurance

 

1.       The Department establishes close relations and cooperation with the relative bodies of foreign higher educational establishments with regard to the creation of transparent standards for the quality insurance and the methodology of their guarantee.

2.       Department of the Quality Assurance of the Faculty helps to guarantee the high quality teaching through using modern methods (modules, the credit system, etc.) of teaching and assessment. The Department also prepares the self-evaluation form for the process of accreditation.

3.       The Department represents the part of the university’s united system of the Quality Assurance.

 

David Bostoghanashvili – head of the department, Associate-professor, room 129,

tel: 2 29 30 61

Natalia Motsonelidze – Chief Specialist, room 129, tel: 2 29 30 61,

email: natalia.motsonelidze@tsu.ge

Gvantsa Gugeshashvili – Chief Specialist, associate-professor, room 129, tel: 2 29 30 61, email: gvantsa.gugeshashvili@tsu.ge

 

Supporting Structural Units of the Faculty

Chancellery

Receives all kinds of applications submitted to the Faculty of Law, registers them and sends the responsive letters of the Faculty of Law to relative persons.

Miranda Mindadze – head of the chancellery, room №117, tel: 2 29 08 41, miranda.mindadze@tsu.ge

Ketevan Berdzenishvili – Chief specialist, room №117, tel: 2 29 08 41

Department of the resource management

Mikheil Chubinidze – head of the department, room №133, email: mikheil.chubinidze@tsu.ge

Jimi Kekelashvili – chief specialist, room №133, email: jkekelashvili@yahoo.com

Rati Kurtanidze – chief specialist, room №133, email: rati.kurtanidze@tsu.ge

Vano Khuntsaria – chief spciealist, room №133, vano.khuntsaria@tsu.ge

Department of the Scientific Research and Development

Lela Janashvili – Head of the department, assistant professor, room №307, tel: 2 29 08 11. Email: lela.janashvili@tsu.ge

Natalia Burduli – chief specialist, room №124, e-mail: natalia.burduli@tsu.ge

Giorgi Makharoblishvili – chief specialist, assistant professor, room №124, email: giorgi.makharoblishvili@tsu.ge

Nino Rukhadze – chief specialist, assistant professor, room №124, email: nino.rukhadze@tsu.ge

Giorgi Chakvetadze – specialist, room №124, email: giorgi.chakvetadze@tsu.ge

Library and resource center 

room №126

The Library guarantees for the students of the Faculty the access to scientific legal literature, also to the electronic and computer bases.

Irakli Dvalidze – Director of the library, associate professor, email: irakli.dvalidze@tsu.ge

Levan Kharanauli – Deputy director

Irine Archvadze – librarian

Nino Aptsiauri – librarian

Liana Kobaladze – librarian

Tamar Tsiklauri - librarian

Department of the Study Process

Carries out all the activities related to the study process on the faculty, serves students in issues regarding their problems in study process

Shorena Tsenguashvili – Head of the Department, room №127 , tel: 2 290819, email: shorena.tsenguashvili@tsu.ge

Liana Beridze – chief specialist, room №127 , tel: 2 290819, email: liana.beridze@tsu.ge

Asmat Gzobava – chief specialist, room №127 , tel: 2 290819, email: asmat.gzobava@tsu.ge

Darejan Murachashvili – chief specialist, room №127 , tel: 2 290819, email: darejan.murachashvili@tsu.ge

Megi Rozomashvili – chief specialist, room №127 , tel: 2 290819, email: megi.rozomashvili@tsu.ge

Teona Qvrivchirishvili – chief specialist, room №127 , tel: 2 290819, email: teona.kvrivchirashvili@tsu.ge

Genrieta Joxadze – chief specialist, room №127 , tel: 2 290819, email: genrieta.jokhadze@tsu.ge

Ketevan Tatarashvili – chief specialist, room 130, tel: 2 222393, email: keti.tatarashvili@tsu.ge

Levan Giorgadze – chief specialist, room 130, tel: 2 222393, email: levan.giorgadze@tsu.ge

Rusudan Tvauri -  specialist, room 130, tel: 2 290819, email: rusudan.tvauri@tsu.ge

Nino Megeneishvili – chief specialist, coordinator of master students, room №130, tel: 2 290819, email: nino.megeneishvili@tsu.ge

Ana Siradze – specialist, room №130, tel: 2 290819, email: ana.siradze@tsu.ge

Kristine Chargazia – specialist, №130, tel: 2 290819, email: kristine.chargazia@tsu.ge

Natia Gvelesiani – specialist, №130, tel: 2 290819, email: natia.gvelesiani@tsu.ge

Scientific-Research Structural Units

Establishment of Scientific-Research Structural Units is based on professors’ voluntary unification for the purpose of direction the study process and scientific research in accordance. Full professors of the Faculty are entitled to get unified in institutes. The direction of these institutes is carries out by their members under the principle of the rotation. It is forbidden to restrict members of the institute from the realization of their academic freedom. 

Within the Faculty of Law there are only 3 scientific-research institutes and also International Law Institute.

International Law Institute

Levan Aleksidze – Director, professor, and academician (email: levan.alexidze@tsu.ge , llaleksidze@yahoo.com )

Levan Giorgadze – Executive secretary, chief specialist

Ketevan Tatarashvili – chief specialist

Members: Konstantine Korkelia, Irina Kurdadze, Ketevan Khutsishvili, Maya Bitadze, Ekaterine Siradze, Mariam Kevlishvili, Nino Rukhadze, Lita Surmava

Institute of Criminalistics and Criminology

Mzia Lekveishvili – Director, email: mzia.lekveishvili@tsu.ge

Members: Moris Shalikashvili (Head of the Centre of Criminology), Nino Gogniashvili (Head of the Centre of Criminalistics), Giorgi Amiranashvili (Secretary of the Institute, TSU, Master student of the Faculty of Law), Maya Ivanidze, Ketevan Mchedlishvili-Hedrich, Nino Gvenetadze, Gocha Mamulashvili, Giorgi Ghlonti, Giorgi Todria, Irakli Dvalidze, Irine Kherkheulidze, Giorgi Gorashvili, Mari Meskhi (PhD student of the Faculty of Law), Temur Tskitishvili (TSU, PhD student of the Faculty of Law), Edisher Futkaradze, Aleksandre Girogadze, Mikheil Gabunia.

Institute of Criminal law and Criminal Law Process

Guram Nachkebia – Director

Members: Nona Todua (head of the Criminal Law Centre), Lali Papiashvili (headof the Centre of Criminal Law Process), Maya Ivanidze, Ketevan Mchedlishvili-Hedrich, Irakli Dvalidze, Giorgi Gorashvili, Tamar Ebralidze, David Sulakvelidze, Merab Turava, Shota Bichia, Giorgi Tumanishvili, Irina Akubardia, Paata Kobaladze, Tamar Tsabutashvili (member of the Georgian Constitutional Court)

Institute of Ancient Georgian Law, Roman Studies and History of Law

Nugzar Surguladze – Director, email: nugzar.surguladze@tsu.ge

Members: Giorgi Davitashvili, Besarion Zoidze, David Bostoghanashvili, Marina Garishvili, Mariam Khoperia, Ana Tsignadze, Sulkhan Oniani, Elza Chachanidze, Gocha Feradze, Medea Matiashvili, David Chikvaidze